Finding peace in control

My mother’s Facebook cracks me up. Not only is she more engaged than her full-time social media marketer of a daughter but it is jammed full of inspirational photos from various unaffiliated motivational groups. The best part? She acts as a spam filter and shares with the world only the most relevant and poignant of posts.

Just now she shared this gem:

“Incredible change happens in your life when you decide to take control of what you do have power over instead of craving control over what you don’t.” – Steve Maraboli

Tonight in particular I’m trying to remember to focus on what I can control instead of what I can’t. While I can’t control that Comcast failed to show up after making me wait 3 hours yesterday and I STILL don’t have Internet. Here is something I can control.

20121107-203505.jpg

Boxes. More specifically, empty boxes. Each one feels like a step closer to home. And with each empty box that leaves my apartment I feel like I have made more room for positivity and contentment. Tonight’s goal? Empty one more of these guys and kick him to the curb. Oh yeah, and write my paper.

Tonight I promise to give up the control I so covet and I hope I will be able to go to sleep with a calm heart.

Be well.

Leave a Reply

