Young House Love Love!

My life is now complete. Yesterday I got to meet the one and only John and Sherry from Young House Love!

Two years ago, a dear friend shared with me a link to their blog and instantly I was hooked. I’ve been following them religiously ever since. So when their new book finally hit the shelves and they announced they would be stopping in DC for their nationwide book tour I jumped on that like a 13-year-old at a Justin Beiber concert. And if we’re keepin it real, there was probably the same amount of squealing involved.

Naturally I’ve had this event marked in my planner for weeks and have diligently been counting down the days 12 days of Christmas style (12 Days of YHL?). Yesterday, the day finally finally arrived!

After work I made my way over to Flor in Georgetown. Sidebar: maybe it’s the Cuban in me but it took me until yesterday to realize that Flor was a play on the word Floor and has nothing to do with the Spanish word for flower. Facepalm.

And after waiting in line TWO hours in a DC winter chill, I finally made it inside the store.

 

And before I knew it I was next in line. I had my friend from Young Scholar’s Life on Skype since she couldn’t be there and up to the table we went.

There was some nervous banter on my part while I introduced my digital friend. They loved that we were skyping and took a picture of us with their personal camera. They signed our books followed by a $herdog gangsta picture and I scurried off blinded by my star struck eyes.

Our $herdog gangsta face. And that’s my skyped in friend on the phone I’m holding. Technologyyy

It was certainly a night to remember. And I can’t wait to get elbow deep in some stellar DIY projects from their book. Thanks John, Sherry, Clara, and Burger for showing me that you can find beauty in even the ugliest of spaces!!

Cheers!

9 thoughts on “Young House Love Love!

  1. Hi Amanda — This is Michele from the YHL line! I’m such a dork and had to look you and Rhiannon up. I totally love your blog and look forward to following you! Too funny that Rhiannon tried to work out a hookup with Katie’s brother. πŸ™‚ Best of luck to you and I can’t wait to read through all your projects!

Leave a Reply

